Days Go By

You were cold and lonely, roaming the streets, dodging cars, hiding in the woods,  and trying to find your way back to where you came from, but you couldn’t remember how. You were confused and didn’t understand why someone left you, dumped you, ignored you. You were picked up by a nice man wearing brown, who picked you up and put you in a big truck. You were scared, but it was warm in there and you were happy to see someone. They brought you to a building with all different abandoned animals, just like you. They got you cleaned up, got you healthy, gave you food, and put you in your own cage. It wasn’t so bad at first. You got to make new friends with the dogs next to you. You got some lovin’ from the humans who fed and cared for you. Volunteers would take you out to play sometimes. But over time, you watched all your dog friends leave their cage. And they wagged their tails as they met their new family, and then you never saw them again. They got to go home. And you watched hundreds of dogs go home. But not you. You’re still in your cage, and even though it’s warm and safe in there, you want a home and a family to be with. You’re bored of being in a cage. You want it to be your turn. You’ve waited long enough.

Welcome to the life of an animal shelter long-timer.

I did a segment on shelter long-timers in the past, and someone suggested changing the term “Long-timer” because it has a negative connotation. But I don’t think I will change it, because in all honesty, it is a very negative situation, and people should realize that. We consider any pet that’s been waiting for 6 months or longer a long-timer. Some of these animals though have been waiting for their home for years. Every day they get their hopes up to get out, but instead are passed by and ignored by the public. It’s no fault of their own, it’s just the sad reality of it. Some pets just aren’t as desirable to the general public as others are. I’m sad to say that a bunch of the dogs we featured as long-timers last year, made the list again this year.

Although I’m always thrilled to see any animal get adopted, it still breaks my heart a little when an animal who has only been waiting a week goes home before the one who has been waiting nearly two years. And it seems that no matter what we do, we can’t get people to focus on these long-timers. We try new photos, videos, flyers, free adoptions, and for whatever reason, they still get overlooked. I hope this post won’t get over-looked the way they have been in the past, and I hope this encourages people to pick the animals who need it the most. Below is a list of the dogs that have been waiting for more than 300 days. Adopt one today for free.

My name is Desi and I’ve been waiting 304 days.

DSC_0275

I was only a puppy when I got to the shelter. I was about 6 months old and really scared and confused. No one ever socialized me, so I didn’t know how to act around people. I just get so excited to see people, I can’t contain myself! I’m working on it though!

I’ve been waiting for 304 days. In that time, I’ve grown up quite a bit. I even grew into my ears, kinda. I still have lots of energy, but the shelter volunteers get me out every week so I can run it off. They’re also teaching me commands! I know what the “sit” and “come” words means, and when I do it right, I get a treat! If you see me out of the cage, you’ll see me running around, playing, and having fun. But when I have to go back in the cage, I’m usually sad and quiet. I wish I could stay out of the cage forever.

 

My name is Momma and I’ve been waiting 330 days.

10174862_801300279916969_4847433986264296913_n

I came to the shelter very pregnant and gave birth to a litter of 10 puppies. I got so much attention when they were born, that I thought for sure someone would want to take me home. I even walked the red carpet and showed off in front of a big crowd of people, but instead, everyone wanted my puppies. No one wanted the mommy. One by one all my puppies got adopted, and there I was, still waiting. I’ve been waiting 330 days in my cage. And I’ll be honest, I’m getting really tired of it.

I love when the volunteers come and take me out. They let me run around and have fun. But they also make me work to learn commands. They say it might help get me adopted – I hope so, I’m trying my hardest! I know sit and come, and I’m learning down and stay. I know I can do it! I’m willing to try anything to get adopted. I know I’m not young like a puppy anymore, and I know someone was mean to me and cut my ears off, so maybe I look a little funny, so I try extra hard to get people’s attention. When people walk by I bark so they notice me, then when they stop I smush into the door hoping they reach in and pet me. (The shelter employees tell people not to do that, though. Shux.) I’d do anything to have a home and human to myself. I’m worth it!

 

My name is Sandy and I’ve been waiting 506 days.

10322705_714151648631833_7639327613496566973_n

I was brought to the shelter on 11-11, and ever since I’ve been wishing someone would take me home. But my wish doesn’t ever come true. I’m a good girl, but the shelter environment can really stress a dog out. I’m always eager to get out of the building, but you’ll notice as soon as I’m out the door I calm right down and behave very well!

The volunteers take me out every week and we learn commands. So far I know sit, down and come. I’m working on stay. I also know how to walk nicely on a leash, but like I said, only when I’m out of the shelter, otherwise, I’ll admit, I pull to get out of there quicker! But you would too after 500 days in a cage! I keep watching everyone around me leave and I wonder when it will be my turn. I’m a good girl and I know I deserve a human that I can have all to my own!

 

My name is Hazel and I’ve been waiting 656 Days!!!!

10256998_10202196762304135_6484600379958688635_n

Can I go home now? I’ve been waiting for forever! I came to the shelter as a puppy and got passed by for so long. I’m about 2 years old now and just want someone to play with, a place and human to call my own. I’ve been practicing my commands and I’m ready to show off. I know sit, down, come and stay. I can walk nicely on a leash and I’m eager to please – especially if it means I get some treats!

The volunteers take me out every week and I love to play with as many toys as I can while I’m out. When I’m done playing, I get lots of love from them and it makes me really wish someone would take me home and give me that love all the time! I’ve watched a lot of dogs leave, a lot of them grow up and go home. When will it ever be my turn?

If you’re interested in adopting one of these dogs, please contact the shelter at 631-224-5660 or email livelovebarkdogrescue@gmail.com. We will be happy to answer any questions you may have, and be more than happy to show any of these dogs out of their cages.

This entry was posted in Things you should know. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

